Language is the breath of God, the dew on a fresh apple, it's the soft rain of dust that falls into a shaft of morning sun when you pull from an old bookshelf a forgotten volume of erotic diaries; language is the faint scent of urine on a pair of boxer shorts, it's a half-remembered childhood birthday party, a creak on the stair, a spluttering match held to a frosted pane, the warm wet, trusting touch of a leaking nappy, the hulk of a charred Panzer, the underside of a granite boulder, the first downy growth on the upper lip of a Mediterranean girl, cobwebs long since overrun by an old Wellington boot.”, “To speak a language is to take on a world, a culture.”, “when a language dies, a way of understanding the world dies with it, a way of looking at the world. When I was a college student and I got interested in linguistics the concern among students was, this is a lot of fun, but after we have done a structural analysis of every language in the world what's left? Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Find inspiration in these Noam Chomsky quotes from the Father of Linguistics. Welcome back. That is a … So, if you’re thinking of learning a new language or already studying one, these 17 quotes will accelerate you along the pathway to fluency. “For last year's words belong to last year's language. “A good traveler has no fixed plan, and is not intent on arriving.” I understand that there is a real lack of respect for the brain. A list of the best language quotes and sayings, including the names of each speaker or author when available.This list is sorted by popularity, so only the most famous language quotes are at the top. It thus offers a general principle that should be taken into consideration when any type of investigation is undertaken. When you know another language, you get a glimpse into how a different people think and live. 0 Share Linguistics is a good way of defining the culture of a brand. We interpret such experiences as and through symbolic means, including linguis